New Event Straw Poll + Multi Mayhem + This Week in MPDC

What Format Do You Want to Play When I Host Events on Sundays for SPDC #strawpoll?

StrawPoll

Multicolor Mayhem – Week #3

After testing the format some, here is v2.0 for my Mono-Control, 4-Color Brew.  I know I’m not allowed to use it in the event, but I wish I could!

Mono Control v2.0

I am already favored against aggro, so I changed the maindeck to help deal with control.  Psychic Strike is easier to cast than Cancel, but milling them is often a drawback since there are tons of ways to get value from the graveyard – Unearth and artifacts to recur with Sanctum Gargoyle being the most relevant.

Adding Dispel was a nice find since so many instants are very powerful and counter-wars will always be over 3 or 4 mana counterspells, so slipping a dispel into the mix is like bringing a gun to a knife fight.

More Shattering Blows are there to stop other recursion decks.  The dream is to remove a Courier’s Capsule before they get a chance to pop it.  That way we don’t care if the Sanctum Garygoyle resolves – if it didn’t get any value from it we will be fine.  Also targeting the Gargoyle itself is quite relevant since if you kill it any other way that doesn’t exile it they can just loop with other Gargoyles.

So in Round 3 of the event I squared off against DrDemento and his Grixis Control deck in the 2-0 bracket.  I lost game 1 as he landed 3 Nivix Cyclopi and 2 Frostburn Weirds where my response was only Executioner’s Capsule and Devour Flesh twice, leaving him with 2 defenders in play.  Blightnings and Inspirations inspired the Izzet defenders to charge, and we were off to game 2.

Sideboarding

We both had no real X/2s to speak of, so we both boarded out our Ubul Sar Gatekeepers.  I brought in my Soul Manipulation, Purge the Profane, and 2 Hindering Light.

Game 2

I play land + go for as long as possible, drawing cards from Courier’s Capsule along the way.  It gets to a point where he is cycling Resounding Scream to Hymn to Torach me.   Things we looking grim, but he didn’t have enough counters to deal with the 5 Gatekeepers I had stockpiled in hand.  The Sunspires, Knights, and Sarulis got there.

Game 3

Anticipating a game without Ubul Sar Gatekeepers to worry about, I brought in the 3 Vedalken Outlanders.  Pro-red means we can block and attack past Nivix Cyclops and Frostburn Weird all day, and it dodges Terminate and Augur Spree.

As it turns out, the aggro plan was a good call.  DrD was missing blue mana for the entire early game and I played out all my 2/2s and 2/4s that make more 2/2s and stole a win against a tough matchup.

MPDC Lately

Coming off back-to-back Top 4 finishes, here and here, I feel like I have a pretty good grasp of the format right now.

The Bw Control deck is just the nut.  It crushes EVERY match up except the Dimir deck, which has tons of creature removal, card draw, and counterspells.  Here is my update if I were to play it this week.

Bw BeatDown

Bw BeatDown

Take out some of the removal spells that are complete blanks against Dimir.  Add in a few lifegain bestows in Hopeful Eidolon to combat the fact we can’t kill as many creatures, but we can gain life to give us time put the game out of reach with Merchants.  Sideboard plan to go full aggro and really flood the board against control.  Still crushing black devotion but a little softer to white heroic decks since we have access to less removal.  I’ll definitely we toying with this one more this week.

MPDC Today

Dimir was not popular lately.  All of a sudden it’s all over the place this week.  I lost to Kriss and his Dimir Control build in the 2-1 bracket for the win-and-in today.  It was the worst pairing I could possibly get.  I didn’t know it at the time, but after seeing his list, there was close to no way I could win.  Four main deck Tome Scour!  Please.  That card is a blank against so many decks and it even enables graveyard recursion.  The first one is completely necessary so that we don’t deck ourselves if our opponent decides not to cast a spell, but 4 is gratuitous. I did get him game 2 with my 1-of Benthic Giant, though.  If only I had won game 1 😛  Game 3 he was able to put some Devour Flesh back in and the new sexy hexxy was not a reliable route to victory.

I beat a more sane Dimir build and stomped on my Bw build in round 2 and 3.  In round 1 I faced off against Godzo, to which I promptly replied, “sweet pairing bro.”  We’ve been talking and testing a lot together lately, sharing our love of the World Cup, and overall trying to get better.  To get this match in round 1 is always annoying since I would prefer to meet him in the 3-0 bracket and I bet he feels the same way.

I think he chose to play Wg mainly since it has Leafcrown Dryad, which does really well at blocking all the flyers in Azorius Aggro.  Against control decks his Gladecover Scout + bestows is a good plan that forces them to have Devour Flesh.  The Auramancer engine is card advantage and allows the 1 for 1 removal to get exhausted while he slowly keeps bringin’ the beats.

ROUND1 – GODZO – FIGHT!

I chatted with my friends PieTime and 7rip about this already.  It seems that MODO bugged and it very well cost me game 1.

Godzo has 4 lands and a Keening Apparition in play.  I have 5 lands in play and my play is to Pharika’s Cure his 2/2 in his upkeep with Psychic Strike backup.  I knew he had Gods Willing since he always had a white open the whole game and it’s strictly better to make him tap mana on his own turn before he draws another card, just in case he doesn’t actually have it.

Anyway, he responds to my Cure with Gods Willing.  I receive priority and tap 3 lands for Psychic Strike.  Before I get to cast it, Godzo is choosing Protection from Black.  Somehow he regained priority.  I have no clue how it happened.  Apparently the exact same sequence happened to 7rip in the past, who was playing a near identical deck as me this week.

The bug means I take some more damage, I don’t gain life, or that if he had a second copy of Gods Willing I don’t get it out of his hand and he gets to land another threat while I’m tapped out.  Our the next few turns I kill some dudes and I stabilize the board by gaining 15 life with Crypt Incursion while he has 0 creatures in play.  Despite MODO’s attempt to ruin me, I feel good about this game.  From that point on my draw steps are Crypt Incursion, 4 land.  Godzo’s draw steps are Seller of Songbirds, 3 Auramancer, and Centaur Healer.  #gg

MPDC Next Week

Your deck choice should have a plan to beat White/X aggro, Black/X Devotion Control with Merchants, and Dimir Control with mill and Counterspells.  For this reason I like Auramancer-based aggro decks.  While GodZo likes Wg this week (he liked Boros last week), I prefer the update to my Bw Control deck (more beatdown now), or Boros or Azorius.

In reality, I prefer Boros AND Azorius.  The mana is just a little tricky.

Channeling My Inner Greg Hatch @hatchingplans – UWR Crouching Cipher, Hidden Strings (post Journey Into Nyx)

CCHS post Journy

This deck is a thing of beauty.  When you have the right mix of creatures/spells + Hidden Strings (you always want Hidden Strings) it is fun and unstoppable!  The problem is that it lacks aggressive tempo because of the Guildgate manabase required to play all 3 colors.  That makes it easy for decks to race us or deal with our threats before we have time and resources to protect them all.

Common Dual Lands

What is it going to take to get a common dual land that enters the battlefield untapped?  What drawback is needed to make this happen?  It can’t be lifeloss, since that would be a Shock-land and aggro decks don’t care about their life-total anyway, so it’s just not harsh enough of a drawback. Here are some of my ideas for common duals.

1) When [cardname] etb, reveal your hand or [cardname] etb tapped.

2) When [cardname] etb, discard a card or [cardname] etb tapped.

3) When [cardname] etb, target opponent draws a card or [cardname] etb tapped.

4) When [cardname] is tapped for color #1 or color #2, it does not untap during your next untap step.  (no option to tap for colorless)

5) Tap [cardname]:  add color #1 or color #2 to your mana pool, then return [cardname] to your hand.

6) [cardname] has Fading 3 (or Vanishing 4)

7) When [cardname] etb, return another land you control to owner’s hand or [cardname] etb tapped.

8) Target opponent may play an additional land during his or her next turn

9) Skip your next draw step

10) At the end of your turn, if you do not control a creature, sacrifice [cardname]

11) Your maximum hand size is reduced by 1 (multiple effect of this stack)

12) The next land that etb under your control etb tapped

13) Tap [cardname]:  add 1 colorless mana.  Cycling (Color 1 + Color 2): You may discard this card for it’s cycling cost.  If you do, draw a card and play this land as an additional land for turn.

14) Cardname both colors // Cardname one color.  Transform (at the beginning of each upkeep, if no spells were cast last turn, flip [cardname]  At the beginning of each upkeep, if a player cast 2 or more spells in one turn, transform [cardname]

Side 1:  Dual land

Side 2:  Target opponent chooses one color that Side 1 can produce.  Side 2 produces only that color.

15) When [cardname] etb, target opponent puts a 1/1 artifact with defender into play

 

 

Do you have any other cool ideas for common dual lands?  Post em in the comments or tweet ’em at me @DrChrisBakerDC

Standard Pauper Players Clan Blog

PDC Magic.com

 

9 thoughts on “New Event Straw Poll + Multi Mayhem + This Week in MPDC

  1. I think the slow land template is fine for common but maybe they will be more apt to give it to is if the colorless were removed (Thalakis Lowlands)

    I had a thought:

    (Card name ) etb tapped, put 1 legendary land token (illusion like a mirage) that can produce color 1 but has the illusion drawback and (card name) can produce color 2

  2. StrawPoll results will lead me to host SPDC as regular Standard Pauper.

    What is still up in the air is what format I will run as a league, similar to what Gwyned is hosting for the Multicolor Mayhem as Shards + RTR Blocks. Vote or message me what you think would be a sweet 2-block mash-up format and why. Thanks.

  3. About the lands: adding to the complexity problem, there is the fact that untapped dual lands are very good also outside the pauper sphere, so Wizards will always want them as rare because they sell boosters. The drawback must be very huge for them to be common.

    Since I’ve been playing MTG again for a few months after more than 15 years of absence, I don’t know much about the past blocks. But I would join anything that would allow me to play and brew different decks without spending much money.

    Congrats for getting another new deck to the finals! Specially when using one of my favorite cards: Wavecrash Triton!

    • Agree: Dual lands are a staple to the regular standard format and will almost always be rare if they have the ‘ability’ to etb untapped in any way. We can dream I guess.

      Looks like ‘M’ Core Set All-Stars has the most votes for the alternative league format. That will be pretty good, classic cards involved for sure.

      I got lucky to even be in the top 8 because FlxEx had to drop after he beat me for the win and in. The mono-blue deck is very good against non-control decks. It’s unfortunate that I played against 4 straight control decks in the swiss (Junk, Dimir, Izzet, and Esper!), then in the Top 8 #1 seed Mundisv Mono-Red (best match-up on the day), Top 4 BW Control, and in the Finals Junk Control again.

      I can’t imagine a worse meta for the blue deck. How it got to 2nd was beyond lucky.

  4. Love the common dual land ideas.

    The discard one might be “safer” if the discarded card was exiled, or it can help feed discard mechanic decks. That would be madness! Pun intended. 🙂

    We see lots of scry at common already, so something like; “When [cardname] etb, each opponent may scry 2.” Helps all players avoid mana-hose, just in different ways. Universal reduction in mana-hose helps the game! The scry might be strong enough in older formats that the common lands won’t be used there, thus not being a chase card at rare.

    I still think the common fetch lands are the way to go, but if Wiz’s don’t want all the searching, they could try something like this: “When [cardname] etb, chose a basic land type. [cardname] becomes that basic land type. Other [cardname] you control etb as that land type.” Darn, smells like a rare.

    As for the shock/pain land idea, I always wanted to see a variant where your opponent choses if you lose life or they gain life. That helps ease the whole problem of different decks not caring about the loss/gain. Wouldn’t be at common though.

  5. Also love the M-Core set Pauper idea. How will that work wit MTGO filters? Might have to require players to only use black rarity symbols, even if there are legal uncommon versions. Would be tough for players to know otherwise. I dunno…..

    • Ya I like M-Core Set All-Stars for the 1st league format. Just use the “Pauper” filter and make sure players only build using cards from M10 and after. Screenshot and report if they are using illegal cards. Ya std pauper rules online have been “the card needs to have been printed at COMMON in the set that you are playing to count.”

Leave a Reply

