The Gauntlet (Round 6), MultiColor Mayhem, and Post-Journey Brews

Loyal Boros Round 6

Loyal Boros

 

Dimir Mill Round 6

Dimir Mill

Alas, congrats to Rakdos Regenerations for winning the Gauntlet.

Multicolor Mayhem – Week 1

I squared off against Beatnik Bobby from Sweden in Round 1.  He was playing the colors of the best deck in the format IMO – Rakdos.  His strategy was based on aggression and tokens to make one-for-one removal less good.  Dragon Fodder and Katari Bomber aren’t threatening on their own, but combined with Dynacharge they pack quite the punch.  Multiple 3 power 2-drops were included, which is par for the course now-a-days.  The true power comes from the back of Madcaps Skills – that card gets in so much extra damage.  His use of it made me reevaluate it for Standard Pauper where I have brewed two aggro decks that are pretty relentless.  I’ll include those for Mono-Red Heroic and Boros Heroic, but first, let my Multicolor Mayhem deck take a selfie #thechainsmokers.

Rakdos - Shards + RTR

Skull Rend beat me up during the Special event – it’s good against control.  Being able to kill every creature and deal with the Sanctum Gargoyle engine with Annihilating Fire and Shattering Blow is a good sideboard plan.  This deck is super fast and resilient – I only wish that I chose to play it!  Instead I chose to fix my Esper Control List to actually have game against Rakdos.

Mono-Control – the best control deck in the format

Mono Control - Shards + RTR

I have kept the durdling to a minimum by cutting Pilfered Plans.  Enabling Unearth was not smart, nor was not influencing the board on turn 3 (sometimes turn 4 due from guildgate delay).  The gatekeepers are all gas and the artifact recursion engine means we will always have ways to kill non-black creatures and draw cards, keeping us ahead as games progress to the late-game.  The extort and blocking stature from Basilica Guards is what really keeps us alive and then eventually puts the game out of reach.  Speaking of putting the game out of reach – Saruli Gatekeepers begged me to play him somehow and all it took was configuring the mana-base for the one Forest, 2 Bant Panorama, 2 guildgate splash.  While green doesn’t offer anything else for us, Saruli is worth his weight in lives (all 7 of them).

Post-Journey MPDC + Standard Pauper Brews

My Junk Control deck from MPDC 25.01 needed to mulligan almost every hand, drew awful, and never had the right answers at the right time.  The deck was hot garbage despite it looking just dandy to me going into the tournament.

The following are post-Journey updates of decks I actually have been liking a lot over the last week.  My previous attempts at Mono-Green, Simic, and UWR Crouching Cipher Hidden Strings just couldn’t compete like these, which is why I’m not going to bother mentioning them.

Mono-Red Heroic

Mono-Red Heroic

Showcasing the power of 16 lands, this beauty operates fully on 2 mana.  Madcap skills never looked so good.  Hopeful Eidolon, Ethereal Armor, Pharika’s Cure, and Grey Merchant of Asphodel all scare me, though.  Right now I’m considering adding Minotaur Skullcleaver but I don’t know what to cut.  I don’t want to increase the land count and I like being “functional” off only two.  Dragon Mantle and Frostburn-Weird are the only mana-sinks, which is usually pretty bad for us if we have that much excess montania.  Frostburn Weird doesn’t hit very hard in this deck but we need some non-X/1s so we don’t get blown out by Shrivel/Electrickery post-board.

Esper Mill

Esper Mill

 

This is basically Dimir Mill splash Revoke Existence to combat Font of Return and Auramancer decks.  Basically the same concept as adding white to Mono-Black to deal with the new metagame of enchantment-centric decks.

Bw Control

Bw Control Post - Journey

Well well, speak of the devil.  A similar deck to what I used for the Worlds event for season 24, except I have included the repeatable removal suite of 4x Quag Sickness + Stab Wound with Auramancer.  This is just a ‘better than mono-black, mono-black deck.

If you aren’t splashing white in your decks right now, you aren’t trying. #DrChrisBakerDC2014

Boros Heroic

Boros Heroic

When you were looking at the mono-red heroic list, you were like, “this looks fine, but why doesn’t he jam some white in there?!”  Ask and you shall receive.  This deck is actually base white, making bountiful use of heroic, restricted to single color mana-symbols (sorry Wingsteed Rider), 16 lands, and Ajani’s Presence – my current ‘blow-out of choice’ in the format.  While the mana-base is a little more dicey than in the Mono-Red heroic deck – this one plays white.  If you haven’t figured out that white is the best color right now then all hope is lost.

Thanks for watching/reading.  I’ll keep up with reports for Multicolor Mayhem and new brews for Standard Pauper as they come to me.  I’m almost all moved into my new place so I’m hoping to have time to learn Gatherling soon and start hosting some Sunday events in as early as two weeks 😀

Follow me on Twitter @DrChrisBakerDC

Standard Pauper Players Clan Blog

PDC Magic.com

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “The Gauntlet (Round 6), MultiColor Mayhem, and Post-Journey Brews

  1. Man you beat me twice today. That’s mean! 🙂

    Nice post! I’m really hoping your new series take off soon.

    About the Dimir Mill match. The match up was really favorable to Brennon, since my deck is very slow and if you don’t count the repeatable cards (or in this case, counter the recurring spells), it has very few damage sources. In game 2 my plan of forcing him to use all his hand until he had to Incusion worked, in game 3 even with him choosing the slow way to finish the game, he would have won if not for the clock. I think playing while you are trying to also entertain people really makes things go slower. As you correctly pointed out in the video, I’m not a fast player (by any means).

    Your mayhem deck is great. Of course my sloppy playing made our game easier, but it’s never easy to fight a deck which has his hand full of answers almost all the time.

    Our MPDC game was much better. You were right on choosing only 16 lands. Other aggro decks would not recover after I stopped the early threats, but with fewer lands you draw more gas and even your 1/1 token becomes a weapon.

    RRR726 piloted your Bw Control deck to win. One deck the champion, another one undefeated. Sounds good to me 🙂 I hope nobody picks the Esper Mill.

    Cheers!

    • Sorry for that double-browning (whammy). There’s not many people that can take that much of a beating and still provide such a thoughtful reply here. Cheers to that mate 😛

      @Dimir Mill – no way he should lose ever. I just can’t even EVEN right now about that match (to this day and for forever!).

      @Mayhem Deck: sure it was good today, but you showed me how powerful Soul Manipulation was in the match-up. Card blew me out game 1 but you never capitalized on the tempo by laying down threat after threat. I was either able to answer them or do more thing in one turn from having more lands in play. The exact reason why I cut Pilfered plans and went up to the full Gatekeeper package was to become more threat-dense. We both always had tons of cards in hand from Capsule + Gargoyle + not enough lands to do multiple things in one turn. Def like 24 lands, was close to even adding one more.

      @16 land aggro – it’s the real deal. I did mulligan a lot but won on 6 cards on the play all day anyway. Gas is good.

      @RRR726 – gosh, such a copy cat net-decker, right? Ha ya I’m actually quite proud of others’ accomplishments with my builds and will continue to support and cheer on anyone that decides to take the plunge with one of these delicately crafted brews.

  2. Pingback: The Gauntlet (Round 6), MultiColor Mayhem, and Post-Journey Brews | MagicGatheringStrat

Leave a Reply

